The Crossroads of Exclusion: Addressing Increases in Gender-based Violence Against People with Disabilities

Woman holding a handmade sign that says 'We will not be silenced'

December 8, 2020
8:30am EST

2:30pm Nigeria/Tunisia; 4:30 pm Kenya/Turkey; 7:00pm India; 8:30pm Thailand

FHI 360 presents this virtual panel discussion in conjunction with the International Day of Persons with Disabilities and the 16 Days of Activism on Gender-based Violence. The panel will use an intersectional lens to examine worldwide increases in gender-based violence (GBV) against people with disabilities, particularly increases due to COVID-19.

 

FHI 360’s co-hosts include the International Disability and Development Consortium (IDDC), Chemonics International and Mobility International USA (MIUSA). Panelists will share their work around the world to address GBV toward women, men and gender-nonbinary people with disabilities. This includes learning from disabled persons organizations (DPOs) that are spearheading local solutions and exploring how international nongovernmental organizations can better partner with DPOs.

 

American Sign Language interpretation, closed captioning and language interpretation will be available. The organizers will accommodate other accessibility requests as possible.

Event details

Moderator:

  • Maegan Shanks, Adjunct Faculty and Program Assistant for International Development Gallaudet University, USA

Panelists:

  • Habtamu Buli, Technical Officer, Disability and Inclusion, FHI 360, USA
  • Come Ndemezo, Vulnerable Populations Inclusion Specialist, Chemonics International, Rwanda
  • Cristina Francisco, Founder, Circle of Women with Disabilities (CIMUDIS), Dominican Republic
  • Karen Saba, Conflict, Disability and Relief Specialist, USA
  • Ekaete Umoh, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, FACICP Disability Plus, Nigeria
Event partners
This event is hosted by FHI 360
in partnership with the
following organizations.

Media Inquiries

For any questions about the event, reach out to our FHI 360 media contact.
Allison Bozniak
Associate Director, Corporate and Regional Communications
1.202.340.2936
Lead photo credit: urbazon/Getty Images